Nifty New Card Comparison Tool

When I decided to use a card-based design for the site many months ago, one of the first ideas that popped into my head was to have a scrolling “rolodex” of cards.  Basically the idea would be to show one card, but let you easily scroll to others.  The two problems with this idea were that I really wasn’t sure what would be the best way to do it, and I had no idea what to do with it.  Well, both of those problems are now solved, so I present the Card Comparison Tool.  It defaults to comparing game cards, which you probably don’t want to do, but you can easily bring up lists of cards for any type on the site, then compare them side-by-side.  The better way to use this feature is to click the “Compare (this card) to other …” link on each card’s page.  You’ll find this link just below the card on the left side.  This will bring up a comparison, loading all cards of that type on both sides, and bringing up the card you were looking at as soon as it loads.

I really like this rolodex interface, and I am going to be setting up a Git repository and making it a bona fide plugin in the near future.  I’m still not really sure what to do with it – comparing cards looks cool, but I’m not sure it’s really that useful.  This would be a good UI for any card chooser tool, though.  I plan to implement it for GF lists in the FF8 Junction Workshop (which, incidentally, is now working again, and now works on touch devices).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

